Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Research Intranet - For Research Staff

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Early and Mid-Career Researcher Network (EMCRN)


The goal of the EMCRN is to promote a collegial and supportive culture across the University in all research areas. The committee will help achieve this goal by:

  • promoting networking throughout the ECU research community by:
    • Advocating for researcher networking events - social and scholarly;
    • Promoting research collaborations with other WA Universities;
    • Advocating for visits to off-campus WA research facilities;
    • Advocating for mentoring opportunities for Early Career and Mid Researchers;
    • Advocating for events and opportunities that promote career development and advice for EMCR researchers.
  • promoting educational events to increase skills of all researchers by:
    • Suggesting appropriate workshops to be held by ORI;
    • Suggesting visiting speakers to ECU;
    • Advocating and promoting research-active staff presentations;
    • Advocating for review/ feedback sessions of researchers’ work.
  • providing a communication channel for research-active staff to voice their ideas and opinions to the University Executive, such as:
    • Funding opportunities;
    • Mentoring and supervision for researchers;
    • Infrastructure needs;
    • Educational needs;
    • University processes.

The Early and Mid-Career Researcher Network is open to all research active staff on an informal basis. All research active staff are welcome to join our events and discussions

Committee membership

The following are members of the EMCRN committee 2019-2020:

Nikki Rajakaruna (School of Arts and Humanities (Law and Justice))
Dr James Croft (School Medical and Health Sciences)

Dr Pattanee Susomrith (SBL)
Dr Craig Harms (SAH)
Dr Christa Norris, Dr Christine Cunningham, Dr Susan Hill (SEd)
Dr Elin Gray, Dr Leslie Calapre, Dr Stephanie Godrich and Dr Josh Lewis (SMHS)
Dr Deb Ireson, Dr Mandie Foster, Dr Carol Wang, Dr Linda Coventry (SNM)
Dr Jessica Pandohee (SSci)
Dr Gabrielle Metcalfe, Dr Luke Hopper (WAAPA)
Dr Caroline Chapman (Research Services)

We have vacancies for representation from School Engineering.

Please feel free to contact your representative at any time with ideas or feedback.

Skip to top of page