Top of page
Global Site Navigation

Learning Intranet - Awards and Grants

Local Section Navigation
You are here: Main Content

Australian Awards for University Teaching

Find all the 2019 Australian Awards for University Teaching winners here (PDF).

ECU Australian Awards for University Teaching Winners 2019

Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Assoc Prof Denise Jackson for over 10 years, Denise has influenced the design of WIL nationally and internationally by sharing her insights, challenges and practices through conference presentations, features in the media, invited keynotes and 50 journal articles. Denise is internationally recognised for her scholarship on the value and influence of WIL, along with best practice and its associated challenges for developing employability among diverse student cohorts.

Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

  • Assoc Prof Vicki Banham for creating a signature pedagogy for students entering into the human services/community work field through a professional placement program.
  • Assoc Prof Deborah Hersh for motivating speech pathology students to become exemplary person-centred, interprofessional practitioners by building mutually beneficial links between innovative teaching, clinical expertise, and high-impact research.
  • Dr Donna Barwood for pioneering and championing inclusive, strengths-based health education, empowering pre-service secondary teachers with transformative capacities to cultivate health literate young Australians.

Congratulations to all the winners.

If you would like support in applying for a teaching award, please contact Wendy Varcoe, ECU’s Institutional Contact Officer for Teaching Awards, on 6304 5169, or by email


Skip to top of page