

ECU South West Campus (Bunbury) Advisory Board

Terms of Reference, Composition and Membership

Functions (Statute No. 20, Section 3.1)

- (1) The functions of the ECU South West Campus (Bunbury) Advisory Board are:
 - a) to provide the Council with strategic advice in relation to the ECU South West Campus (Bunbury) and education matters relevant to the south-west region of the State; and
 - b) any other functions relating to the ECU South West Campus (Bunbury) and education matters relevant to the south-west region of the State determined by the Council.
- (2) Other functions of the Advisory Board are:
 - a) to provide advice to the Council or University, as appropriate, on -
 - (i) building and strengthening industry partnerships to benefit the Region, students and the University's research imperatives;
 - (ii) emerging trends, opportunities and developments including population, professional, economic and specific industry needs which may be relevant to course offerings in the Region;
 - (iii) increasing awareness and understanding of the University and its ability to contribute to the Region's standing through the advancement of the Region's education, training and research profile;
 - (iv) strategies to ensure that prospective students are aware that the University offers quality tertiary education within the Region, and to strengthen the University's impact through opportunities within and outside of the Region;
 - (v) potential sources of scholarships and industry funding for research or strategic projects; and
 - (vi) enhancing community engagement and outreach activities of the Campus; and
 - b) to perform any other functions relating to the Campus or the Region determined by the Council.
- (3) The Advisory Board, and its members individually, are to act as advocates for the University in the broad community, with relevant government agencies and with other external organisations.

Composition of the Advisory Board (Statute No. 20, Section 2.1)

- (1) The Advisory Board consists of the following members
 - a) a minimum of 5 and a maximum of 10 community members appointed by the Council;
 - b) the Vice-Chancellor, or the Vice-Chancellor's nominee;
 - c) the Head of Campus;
 - one member of the academic staff (other than the Head of Campus) whose principal location of employment is the Campus, appointed by the Council;
 - e) one member of the non-academic salaried staff of the University whose principal location of employment is the Campus, appointed by the Council; and
 - f) an enrolled student whose principal location of study is the Campus, appointed by the Council.
- (2) The Council is to appoint the Chairperson from among the community members appointed under section 2.1(1)(a).
- (3) The Advisory Board is to appoint the Deputy Chairperson from among the other community members appointed under section 2.1(1)(a).

Accredited Observers (Council Standing Orders, Rule 10.3)

The Council may, by resolution, designate a person to be an Accredited Observer to attend meetings of the Council or of a Council Body (as the context requires) for a period (that may be renewed) of up to one calendar year.

Meetings Procedures and Quorum (Statute No. 20, Section 3.4)

- (1) Subject to this Statute, the Advisory Board may
 - a) regulate its proceedings in whatever manner it sees fit; and
 - b) adopt meeting procedures.
- (2) At a meeting of the Advisory Board
 - a) not less than one half of the total number of members for the time being constitutes a quorum; and
 - b) a resolution cannot be made in the absence of a quorum.

Conflicts of Interest (Statute No. 20, Section 3.6)

- (1) The Advisory Board must adopt procedures for identifying and dealing with any conflict of interest of a member.
- (2) The procedures -
 - must be informed by the relevant provisions in the Act, Schedule 1, Division 2 and in the Council Standing Orders; and
 - b) may be included in the Advisory Board's meeting procedures (if any) adopted under section 3.4(1).

CURRENT MEMBERSHIP

Composition s.2.1(1) of University Statute No. 20		Member	Term expiry (#)
(a)	a minimum of 5 and a maximum of 10 community members appointed by the Council	Ms Kerry Winsor Chair	1 May 2027 (1)
		Ms Kelly Hick	17 Mar 2027 (2)
		Mr David Kerr OAM	3 May 2026 (1)
		Ms Lesley Nelson	3 May 2026 (1)
		Ms Anna Oades	13 Dec 2027 (3)
		Mr Lee Smith	14 Dec 2026 (1)
		Mr Ian Telfer	3 May 2026 (1)
		Mr Jack Harding	21 Aug 2027 (1)
(b)	Vice-Chancellor, or nominee	Prof Clare Pollock	ex-officio
(c)	Head of Campus	Prof Cobie Rudd	ex-officio
(d)	One member of the academic staff whose principal employment location is the Campus	Dr David Rhodes	30 Apr 2025 (1)
(e)	One member of the professional staff whose principal employment location is the Campus	vacant	
(f)	One student whose principal study location is the Campus	Ms Leah Currey	31 Dec 2025 (1)